When Google announced its launch of Google+, I was already blogging on another platform and couldn't imagine being able to add yet another social media or blogging outlet. But since it promised to smoothly integrate with my Google account, and I was also using Google Voice and Google Docs, and didn't cost anything, I went ahead and signed up for it.
For a few years, I would get occasional notifications (via Gmail) that I had been added to someone's circle, or someone in one of my circles had posted something. I posted there a couple of times too, and left comments on other people's Google+ content. But I never jumped in with both feet, and I never really discovered all the features and functionality that accreted to Google+ over the years.
And as it turns out, most folks did the same thing.
So, finally, Google is pulling the plug on Google+ and folding some of its capability into other Google products, but mostly just deleting all the hosted content, clearing off the workbench, and making room in their servers (and in their engineers' schedules) for other things.
Unfortunately, some folks did jump into Google+ with both feet, and really enjoyed it. They put Google+ to good use and made it work for them, building Communities and accumulating quite a bit of valuable content.
If you are one of those folks, I'm sure you've already seen the Dear John email that Google sent us all this morning. But for those who never did sign up for Google+ (and apparently there are a lot of you!), it's worth a look, because it's one of the best "We're Shutting Down And Deleting All Your Stuff" emails I've ever seen. I have already clicked the link to download an archive of what little I did post (mostly Wordsmith info), and it was super easy, exactly as they described it would be. I imagine it will be similarly easy—albeit more poignant—for those who have tons of Google+ content.
If that's you, please let me know how it goes, as you save your content... and do you plan to transfer your content to another platform? Which one, and why?
If you'd rather not leave a public comment, just email me.
Gmail still works great.
(Sorry, that wasn't appropriate...)
Grace and strength to you who must migrate!
Here's the email Google sent to all of us who ever used Google+:
You've received this email because you have a consumer (personal) Google+ account or you manage a Google+ page.
In December 2018, we announced our decision to shut down Google+ for consumers in April 2019 due to low usage and challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers' expectations. We want to thank you for being part of Google+ and provide next steps, including how to download your photos and other content.
On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April. Note that photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
The process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages, and Album Archive will take a few months, and content may remain through this time. For example, users may still see parts of their Google+ account via activity log and some consumer Google+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is deleted.
As early as February 4th, you will no longer be able to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events.
See the full FAQ for more details and updates leading up to the shutdown.
If you're a Google+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your Google+ Community. Starting early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community. Learn more
If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ Sign-in button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but in some cases may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button. You'll still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-in buttons. Learn more
If you've used Google+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by February 4th and other sites by March 7th. All your Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2, 2019. Learn more
If you're a G Suite customer, Google+ for your G Suite account should remain active. Contact your G Suite administratorfor more details. You can also expect a new look and new features soon. Learn more
If you're a developer using Google+ APIs or Google+ Sign-in, click here to see how this will impact you.
From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place. We are grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders, and thought leaders who made Google+ their home. It would not have been the same without your passion and dedication.
Google LLC 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043
You have received this mandatory email service announcement to update you about important changes to your Google+ Page, product or account.
Leave a Reply